Patna University

Initially established as an examining body, Patna University is the seventh oldest university in India. It was founded on 1st October 1917. Since its inception it covered the jurisdiction of Bihar, Orissa and Nepal. However, with the establishment of Utkal University in Orissa and Tribhuvan University in Kathmandu, Patna University ceased to be the examining board of the educational institutions of Orissa and Nepal respectively. With the passing of the Patna Univwersity Act 1951, the idea of establishing a Teaching and Residential University at Patna was mooted. It is also the only university in the state of Bihar to be truly national in character admitting students transceding borders of nationality, religion, caste and creed.

Being a socially conscious university, Patna  University has three constituent colleges esclusively for women and teh rest saw a substantial number of women being enrolled.

Currently, Patna University has ten constituent colleges - Patna Science College, Patna College, B. N. College, Patna Law College, Magadh Mahila College, Patna Women’s College, Vanijya Mahavidyalaya, College of Arts and Craft, Patna Training College, Patna Women’s Training College and thirty-one post-graduate departments in the faculties of Humanities, Social Science, Science, Education, Commerce, Law, Management. 

It believes in the overall development of the students and therefore stress on extra curricular activities is given. Students are enrolled in NSS, NCC, Sports and Cultural Activities Boards. 

The University has also developed relationships with other Universities for exchange programmes both for their students and teachers to enhance knowledge. It continuously holds seminars and workshops to cater to the academic needs of the students.

Library of Patna University

The Central Library of Patna University is one of the most prestigious libraries of Bihar. It caters to the needs of the students and teachers, research scholars and non-teaching staff too. It is a fully computerized library and is opened for major part of the day. Currently there are more than 4, 00, 000 books besides 87 periodicals and 50,000 back journals. It has more than 5000 valuable old and rare manuscripts for scholars. The Library is working to establish e-resource centre, e-journal facilities and to transform into Digital Library. 

Faculties and Departments of Patna University

Patna University has 31 postgraduate departments apart from Patna Medical College and Patna Dental College. There are 4 Institutes maintained by the University e.g. Institute of Psychological Research & Services, Institute of Public Administration, Institute of Music, and Institute of Library and Information Science. College of Arts & Crafts which is one of the most popular colleges of the University is devoted to fine arts and has been imparting teaching in painting, sculptures etc. A Faculty of Fine Arts has also been started and is located on the campus of College of Arts & Crafts. 

The University also runs the Master of Business Administration Course in the Department of Applied Economics and Commerce, the Department of Personal Management and Industrial Relation is having post-graduate Diploma courses in Industrial Safety Management and Rural Management and Welfare Administration. These are self-financed courses. 

Faculties of Patna University

Faculty of Sciences of Patna University

  • Chemistry
  • Zoology
  • Botany
  • Mathematics
  • Statistics
  • Geology

Faculty of Humanities
  • English
  • Hindi
  • Sanskrit
  • Bengali
  • Maithili 
  • Persian
  • Philosophy 
  • Arabic
  • Urdu

Faculty of Social Sciences
  • History
  • Psychology
  • Ancient Indian History & Archaeology
  • Economics 
  • Sociology 
  • Personnel Management & Industrial Relations
  • Geography
  • Political Science 
  • Institute of Public Administration
  • Institute of Psychological Research and Service

Faculty of Commerce
  • Applied Economics and Commerce

Faculty of Education
  • Education

Faculty of Law
  • Law  

Faculty Of Fine Arts
  • College of Arts & Craft

Faculty of Medicine
  • BDS

Departments of Patna University

  • Department of English
  • Department of Hindi
  • Department of Sanskrit
  • Department of Maithili
  • Department of Persian
  • Department of Philosophy
  • Department of Arabic
  • Department of Urdu
  • Department of History
  • Department of Psychology
  • Department of A.I.H. & Archaeology
  • Department of Economics
  • Department of Sociology
  • Department of Geography
  • Department of Pol. Science
  • Department of Applied Eco. & Commerce
  • Department of Physics
  • Department of Chemistry
  • Department of Zoology
  • Department of Botany
  • Department of Mathematics
  • Department of Statistics
  • Department of Geology
  • Department of Education
  • Department of Law
  • Department of Bio- Chemistry
  • Department of Home Science

Admission in Patna University

Admission to BA, B.Sc, BSW, B.Com, B.Li.I.Sc, BBA, BFA and other Bachelor courses is based on candidates’ performance in Patna University Common Entrance Test (PUCET).

For B.Ed and LL.B courses, the university conducts BEET and BLET exams respectively. For M.Ed and LL.M courses, Patna University conducts MEET and MLET tests respectively.

For M.Sc (Biochemistry/ Biotechnology/ Environmental Science) the university conducts separate entrance tests.

For MA (PMIR/ Rural Studies) and MBA, the candidates have to qualify in CAT/ MAT/ ATMA/ JMET followed by GD and PI.

Patna University conducts Ph.D. Admission Test (PAT) to offer admission in Ph.D. program.

For details on UG admission, click here
For details on PG admission, click here

Patna University,
Patna – 800 005., Bihar, India
Enquiry Ph. No. - 0612 - 2678008
Time of Enquiry - 10:30 AM to 5:00 PM in working days
E-mail - 

Connect me with the Top Colleges