National Institute of Technology Patna

Formerly known as  the Bihar School of Engineering and Bihar College of Engineering, the National Institute of Technology Patna (NIT Patna),  is a public engineering institution located in Patna, Bihar. It was renamed to NIT Patna, by the Government of India on 28 January 2004. It is an autonomous institute functions directly under Ministry of Human Resource Development, Government of India.

Bihar School of Engineering or NIT Patna started its journey in 1886 making it the 6th oldest engineering college in India. Bihar School of Engineering was subsequently promoted of Bihar College of Engineering Patna in 1924. The graduate level curriculum was later elevated to the post graduate level in 1978. 

National Institute of Technology Patna has been declared as an Institute of National Importance and has been granted a fully Autonomous Status by MHRD, Government of India. The Institute has also been declared as a Centre of Excellence of impart high level education training , research and development in science, engineering technology and humanities. It is imparting high quality education & values at UG (B.Tech), PG (M.Tech) & Ph .D programmes through its experienced faculty well versed in their respective field of engineering an technology with well equipped laboratories . At present the Institute has seven disciplines viz. Architecture, Civil Engineering, Compute Science & Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Electronics & Communication Engineering, Information Technology and Mechanical Engineering, and well established departments of physics, Mathematics and Humanities and Social Science.

Departments in NIT Patna

Academic Programs in NIT Patna

Bachelor of Architecture
Architecture: 5 years

Bachelor of Technology: 4 years
  • Civil Engineering
  • Computer Scince & Engineering
  • Electrical Engineering
  • Electronics & Communication Engineering
  • Information Technology
  • Mechanical Engineering

Postgraduate Programme : 2 Years
  • Water Resources Engineering
  • Transportation Engineering
  • Structural Engineering
  • Environmental Engineering
  • Geotechnical Engineering
  • Control System Engineering
  • Power System Engineering
  • Thermal Engineering
  • Production Engineering
  • Design Engineering
  • Automobile Engineering
  • Renewable Energy Technology
  • Information Technology
  • Computer Science & Engineering
  • Master of Technology (Electronics & Communication Engineering) Communication Systems
  • VLSI System Design and Microelectronics

Other programs include:
  • Master in Urban & Regional Planning(MURP) 
  • M. Tech (Computational Mathematics)
  • M. Tech (Nanoscience and Technology)
  • Five Years Integrated Programs
  • M. Sc.(Chemistry)
  • M. Sc.(Mathematics)
  • M. Sc.(Physics)

National Institute of Technology Patna, 
Ashok Rajpath, Mahendru, 
Patna, Bihar (800005), India
Phone: 0612 - 237 1715 / 237 2715 / 237 1929 / 237 0419 / 237 0843 / 237 1930
Fax: 0612-2670631, 0612-2660480

Connect me with the Top Colleges