Lalit Narayan Mithila University

The people of Mithila, Bihar had a long cherished dream of having an university in their region that catered to higher learning and provided opportunities to all irrespective of economic and social background. Eminent academicians like Dr. Amarnath Jha, Dr. R. C. Mazumdar, Dr. A. S. Altekar, Dr. Sunil Kumar Chatterjee also mooted the idea of a university along with the locals. The prayers were heard when the idea was finally tabled in on 27th January 1947 at a meeting of some of the leading citizens of Darbhanga and Laheriasarai. The Mithila University Committee was constituted with Dr. Amarnath Jha as the President, Pandit Girindra Mohan Mishra and Pandit Gangadhar Mishra, the Vice-Presidents, Pandit Harinath Mishra as the General Secretary, Kumar Kalyan Lal and Professor Quasim Hussain Secretaries, and Late Shri Padmana Prasad as the Treasurer including a few members such as Shri Jyoti Prasad Singh, the late Shri P. N. Mishra and Principal. A Committe was also formed by the Government consisting of  Shri T. P. Singh, Secretary, Minister of Education and Social Welfare, Shri R. K. Chabra, Secretary U.G.C. and Shri N. D. J. Rao, Education Commissioner, Bihar. The UGC team visited the town for exploring the opportunities of establishing a modern university.

In its report, the committee said that it could consider the setting up a University in Darbhanga.

Lalit Narayan Mithila University was born  in 1972 with its headquarters at Darbhanga carving out colleges of Darbhanga and Kosi Divisions which were earlier part of Bihar University, Muzaffarpur and Bhagalpur University, Bhagalpur.

After the sad demise of Pt. Lalit Narayan Mishra in January, 1975, the name of Mithila University was changed to Lalit Narayan Mithila University. But it was soon reversed to the original name through an ordinance. However, in 1980, the name Lalit Narayan Mithila University was restored through an Ordinance.

Colleges Under Lalit Narayan Mithila University

Faculties in Lalit Narayan Mithila University

  • Department of Botany
  • Department of Chemistry
  • Department of Mathematics
  • Department of Physics
  • Department of Zoology 

  • Department of English
  • Department of Hindi
  • Department of Maithili
  • Department of Sanskrit
  • Department of Philosophy
  • Department of Music and Dramatics
  • Department of Urdu

  • Department of Ancient History and Culture
  • Department of Economics
  • Department of Geography
  • Department of History
  • Department of Home Science
  • Department of Psychology
  • Department of Political Science
  • Department of Sociology 
  • Department of Commerce and Business Administration 

LNMU UG Admission
LNMU offers B.A, B.Sc, B.Com programs in various specializations. A pass in 10+2 is required to secure admission in UG courses. 

LNMU MBBS Admission
Admission to MBBS program is offered on the basis of students’ performance in NEET. Candidates should have passed 10 plus 2 from any recognised board in India. Admission is based on the rank in NEET.

LNMU B.Ed Admission
LNMU offers B.Ed program under Self-Financing scheme. admission to BEd is done on the basis of marks in CET conducted by the university. Students have to pay INR 1000 as application fee.

LNMU MBA, MCA & M.Li.Sc Admission
LNMU offers MCA & M.Li.Sc program at the Post Graduate level. Admission to MCA course is on the basis of performance in Combined Admission Test conducted by LNMU.

M.Li.Sc admission is offered on the basis of marks in the last qualifying examination or through an entrance test conducted by the university. Final admission is offered on the basis of entrance score followed by counselling.

For MBA, CMAT or MAT scores are considered for admission. Final seat is offered on the basis of candidates’ performance in GD and PI conducted by LNMU.

LNMU PG Admission: M.A, M.Sc, MD & MS
LNMU offers MA, M.Com., M.Sc, MBA, MD & MS programs in various specializations. To get admission in Master’s degree courses, candidates must hold a Bachelor’s degree in the relevant stream with at least 55% marks in aggregate.

Admission will be on merit determined by the marks obtained in graduation. For some courses, the university also conducts an interview as part of the final selection process.

LNMU Ph.D. Admission
The university offers Ph.D. in various disciplines. Basic eligibility is a pass in PG or M.Phil degree with 55% marks in aggregate. Admission is given on the basis of candidates’ performance in Pre-Ph.D. Registration Test (PRT).

The candidates have to secure at least 50% (45% for reserved categories) marks in PRT to secure admission in the Ph.D. program offered by LNMU. NET/CSIR/ICHR or GATE qualified candidates will be exempted from PRT.

For examination calendar of all the departments, click here

Library of Lalit Narayan Mithila University

The library was established by Dr. Mahamahopadhyay Sir Ganganath jha (1885) as a donation from Darbhanga Raj family. It was renamed from “Raj library” to Mahadhiraj Kameshwar Singh Library on 23rd Nov. 1975 and subsequently renamed as Mahadhiraj Kameshwar Singh Institute Of Social Science and Research Library.

Central Library

The Central Library, L.N. Mithila University, Darbhanga was established in 1972 for the purpose of providing facilities for students to acquire knowledge.Teaching of BLIS course is also available in this Library.Teaching of BLIS course is also available in this Library.  219059 books and  14660 periodicals. For more information, click here

Self Financed Institutions of Lalit Narayan Mithila University

Lalit Narayan Mithila University
Kameshwaranagar, Mansaar Colony
Darbhanga, Bihar 846004, India
Mobile: 9431883291

Connect me with the Top Colleges